Long Road to Baseline

The title sounds like a strange movie, but once you have read the first paragraph you will understand why.

I live in a city which is on the top 10 list for worst traffic in the nation. It’s not L.A., neither New York nor San Francisco; I live in Honolulu. 

Who would have thought that there could be such horrible traffic congestion on a tiny island somewhere in the Pacific?! Hawaii is beautiful.. BUT.. anything you can do to avoid morning and afternoon rush hour, and probably all the times in between, then you should do it. I wish I could, but the sad reality is that I have no choice but be stuck in traffic every single day, and sometimes my morning commute takes me anywhere from 1 – 2 plus hours. Yep! For some of you this might seem like nothing, but think about it like this: Oahu is (apparently) half as big as Rhode Island. My commute is only about 20 miles each way, so maybe that makes sense to you now. 

I also like to call driving here “anger management therapy.” I say that, because you really have to be patient and try not get frustrated with people’s driving skills. We have speed limits that are already pretty slow, and then you have the ones that drive even slower. And have I mentioned that no one really uses their signal! Not even speaking about stopping and holding up the traffic in the lane they are in before switching to other lanes! I could go on and on, but o.k., I’m done with my rant now lol

I got up in a good mood, it was a beautiful morning. Until I was lucky enough to get stuck in one of those bad morning traffic jams. My appointment was scheduled for 7:30 am. I left a little before 6:00 am, just to make sure I won’t have to rush, and of course in case of any hold ups. That morning, it took me a solid 2 hours to get to the clinic! It was one of those bad mornings where you just heard on the radio over and over that there was an accident after an accident, stalled vehicles and so on. By the time I arrived at the clinic it was 8:00 am. I called them when they first opened to let them know, they were cool about it, but I was just so embarrassed.

When I arrived, the waiting room was packed. I was surprised because all of the other times before it was always fairly empty. And once again, it made me realize how many people are affected by infertility. It does not matter if young or old.

Shortly after I checked in, I was already taken back to get my blood drawn. As I mentioned before, I can’t stand needles and whenever I go to a blood draw the lab techs always seem to choose my right arm because they can never find my vein on the left. It gets pretty old, but what can you do. I do hope though, that during this process they will switch sides. I can only imagine how bad it would be to always use the same vein.

I met with the doctor after and he performed my ultrasound. He is very quick and, I think, does not tell the patient too much information they don’t really need to know so they won’t stress themselves out. I like that. I mean, I do want to know what’s going on but it’s probably better that I don’t know everything down to the exact numbers etc. The nurse asked me if I started my period yet and I told her no, but that it feels like it is coming soon. And sure enough, after the doctor performed the ultrasound it started! He was content with what he saw, mentioned that everything looks great and told me to call Med Voice in the afternoon to find out about my blood results and when to start stimming. If anyone doesn’t know what Med Voice is, it is a phone system that you call where you listen to messages that were recoded by your doctor’s office for you. In my case, I have to call every time after a blood draw to find out what happens to the stimming dosage that evening. Pretty neat, if you ask me.

By the time I got to work I received a call from the clinic. They had already gotten my test results back and mentioned that I didn’t have to call Med Voice anymore. Everything looked good and I could start stimming 09/30/16. Thank you Lord!

One step closer to the goal 🙂

Processed with Snapseed.

P.S. Still catching up; late post from 09/29/16 😉

Leave a Reply

