Needle-O-Phobia

A late post from 09/18/16. With work, every day life and this IVF cycle it’s been a little challenging with keeping up and posting a timely update. I will try to be better  ðŸ™‚
.
.
f9b683d49090ed2d803055d59b398d12Our Sundays are usually reserved for morning worship and evening service. This Sunday was a little different though. We were scheduled for our injection lesson at the clinic. I must say as nervous as I was during the last days leading up to this appointment, I slept really well and woke up rested, and in a good, easy mood. That was definitely prayers answered and I am so grateful for that. Once we arrived at the clinic we got handed some info sheets and paid for our treatment portion. I thought things were getting real before, but now that this was taken care of.. it seems like things are REALLY getting real!

Before this appointment I did (well, still do) a ton of research and googling, reading, you-tubing (you name it!) about the different medications, tips and tricks, and anything else you can imagine. I don’t know if this is a good thing or if i’m actually just slowly driving myself crazy?! I’m sure, any of you going through this are experiencing these things in some kind of way. I think it’s just natural, for a woman I think anyways, or maybe it’s just me. My husband seems to be the one who is less worried and stressed. I’m definitely glad we balance each other out, or else I would probably be walking around like a chicken without a head. 

Going through IVF in general, the pressure seems to lie mostly on the woman. From pre procedures to stimulation to retrieval to transfer and implantation. According to my doctor, nowadays it is fairly easy to bypass male infertility with ICSI, which I am so thankful for! I’m so glad my husband is aware of this being a very stressful process but I think going to the lesson and actually holding the needle and practicing gave him a bit more understanding of what my body (and mind) is being put through. Now, not everyone handles this type of situation the same. It can be draining and stressful for your other half as well. They might not show it, but please keep that in mind. It is very important to support each other during this process and to have patience with another, especially not knowing what the outcome might be.  

Our lesson didn’t take too long, maybe an hour at the most. The nurse had our goody bag of medication ready, went over our schedule with us, explained the different medications and how to mix them, showed us the spots to inject, and handed us a rubber cube and placebo meds to practice injecting them into the rubber cube. It was interesting seeing my husband hands on. He seemed really focused and excited, and he was (cute) actually “pretending” to really inject me. I’d say we gave our nurse a good laugh with our role play skills. All the fun aside though, I am glad that my hubby will be the one administering the injections. I don’t think I could do this on my own. I definitely have “Needle-O-Phobia” and I don’t think I could ever get use to it – despite the fact that I have gotten poked about a hundred times in the last year! The sole thought of myself putting a needle in my own skin gives me the creeps. Like really, it makes me want to puke.

After seeing my husband do so well I definitely feel better about him (not the needle) injecting me. He says he got this all day long lol; I just hope he will remember everything in a week. Me and my scattered brain will probably forget half of it! Good thing they handed out the info sheet which we can always refer to. I still made some notes though. If there is one thing I can recommend it is to ask questions, regardless of how silly or dumb you might think they may be, and take notes if you have to. I mean I have a good memory but with everything going on (work, everyday life, IVF) it does happen that I forget things here and there. Overall I am glad that our clinic offered the lessons there instead of having us watch videos or just refer to the info sheet. I’d say it gave us both confidence.

img_7930
So everyone’s protocol will be different based on what your medical background is. This is what mine looks like:

  • Doxycycline for 7 days, starting 09/30/16 (hubby and I)
  • Gonal F (225 units) 1x a day in the PM, starting 09/30/16
  • Menopur (2 vials) 1x a day in the PM, starting 09/30/16
  • Baby Aspirin (81mg) 1x a day – to prevent blood clotting *Update – I found out about the aspirin today (10/03), after listening to my message on Med Voice yesterday to find out about my dosage. Verified with the clinic this morning. They forgot to tell me! 🙄

The dose might go up or down pending scan results and blood work. They told me I will find out the same day of my appointment, in the afternoon sometime. I have my first scan scheduled for 09/29 which is only a little over a week out. I’m taking the last of my birth control pills and hopefully my period will start timely. I heard that some people didn’t get theirs after the laparoscopy, or their cycle got thrown off from being on birth control.
But, so far so good. 

Leave a Reply

